banner ad
By January 14, 2015 Read More →

Children’s Theatre Magazine NEWS Do you find Shakespeare a bit hard? Then try this bunch of nutters with A Comedy of Errors

Pocket Comedy - Pocket Propeller visits the egg theatre (1)

www.childrenstheatremagazine.co.uk

For their first experience of a Shakespeare play then Propeller Theatre’s 60 minute version of The Comedy of Errors is not a bad one for children to start with. The show is on tour this spring beginning in Charlton Kings in January and continuing into March where the show hangs up its costumes in Canterbury.
The cheeky, comical and decidedly all-male production has been performed in theatres around the globe. Pocket Propeller productions are pocket-size adaptations of Propeller’s full-scale tours, aimed at young people and first-time theatregoers.
In The Comedy of Errors, two sets of estranged twins, separated at birth, find themselves in the same city 25 years later with hilarious consequences. A series of mistaken identities, assumed personas, and wild mishaps bring a family crisis into focus.
The plays are adapted by director Edward Hall and Shakespeare Scholar Roger Warren and designed by Michael Pavelka. The cast includes Darrell Brockis, Joseph Chance, Anthony Jardine, Richard Pepper and Dan Wheeler with newcomer Max Hutchinson.
The full tour dates are (excluding school visits):
BATH, The Egg Friday 23 – Saturday 24 January 2015; LONDON, Victoria & Albert Museum Tuesday 27 & Wednesday 28 Janury 2015; LOUGHBOROUGH, Town Hall Tuesday 3 February 2015; KENDAL, Brewery Arts Centre Wednesday 4 February 2015; BEDFORD, The Place Thursday 5 February 2015; WELLINGBOROUGH, Castle Theatre Friday 6 February 2015; KINGSTON, Rose Theatre Tuesday 10 – Wednesday 11 February 2015; LUTON, Library Theatre Friday 20 February 2015; WARWICK, Dream Factory Friday 27 February 2015; FOLKESTONE, Quarterhouse Thursday 26 February 2015; NORWICH PLAYHOUSE Wednesday 4 & Thursday 5 March 2015; CANTERBURY, Gulbenkian Saturday 7 March 2015.

Posted in: Uncategorized

About the Author:

Comments are closed.

banner ad